Mixed Results: DQN Experimentation

In preparation for the upcoming competition and the end of the semester, I’m probably shelving this project for the foreseeable future. But, I wanted to share what I’ve been working on for the past two months.

Want to try this out too? Below is a short list of links of stuff I remember being helpful. It shouldn’t assume too much prior knowledge. I think starting with supervised learning helped a lot though.

Links

Game Engine

RL

Open AI Gym

DQN

• keras-rl: Library to run the magic of DQN that plugs right into the OpenAI gym you made.

Getting the Model Running On Terminal

• Keras2Cpp4Terminal: Self plug for the adaption of the Keras2Cpp library I made. Note that there are a couple known issues with the library.

How It Works

I wanted to try out a reinforcement-based algo, instead of my first supervised learning project, so I researched the basics of RL and common libraries for using it. I ended up hijacking my C++ turn simulator to create a partial C++ game engine[1] and using that to create a custom OpenAI Gym (to be referred to as “the environment”). From there, I used the keras-rl library to train a neural net with a deep Q-learning policy[2] on the environment I made. Specifcally, I trained it (the neural net, to be referred to as “the agent”) against a simple version of the classic “Sawooth” algo (pink player). This served to be a proof-of-concept of deep Q-learning in Terminal, vastly reduce the state space the agent has to learn about, and in speed up the game engine with a static opponent playing over a dynamic one.

Game Engine

The biggest part of recreating the game engine is the turn simulation aspect, and conveniently a C++ turn simulator was the first thing I did in Season 2. I won’t go too much into this, since this aspect of Terminal is both well documented and well discussed.

Open AI Gym Environment