Random crashes in ranked battles [PLS FIX]

On some ranked games my algos randomly crash on turn 0.
I’ve done tons of testing, but I can’t figure out where the problem is.
I have a suspicion there is something wrong with the servers…
Even though it’s posible the error is in MY code, I have no way of figuring out where, because the reaplays don’t store the console messages and errors.

Plese add at least a simple info box saying on which line the problem occured when an algo crashes.
(or help me dig trough my code)

1 Like

I can corroborate this.
All of my algos have had these crashes every so often since I started playing weeks ago.
I even attempted to find the problem by watching the replay, battling against my algo by hand in the playground, and making identical moves as the opponent in the replay made, but in the playground my algos always work fine. Only in leaderboard matches will they occasionally crash on turn 0 for no discernible reason.

I can confirm that this was an issue on our end. After investigation, we seem to have found the source of the issue. We just deployed a fix for this, so it should be happening significantly less often if at all. If you notice it again, let us know here.

To clarify, the symptom that was experienced by users and which we believe is now fixed is that Algos would randomly crash on turn 0.

Sorry for letting this slip by - We had a large number of users submitting algos that always crashed which muddied our metrics. We are working on a system that will remove algos that crash very often to improve overall match quality and our ability to detect this sort of issue.

Adding crash reports to replays is something we are looking into the best way to do, but would probably require a restructure of the replay file which touches a few other systems, so that is a relatively low priority right now but definitely something we also want to add.

2 Likes

Hey C1Ryan,