Creating A Python Extension

It seems there has been a fair bit of interest regarding running algos in C++ and I want to talk about how I have done this, in a tutorial style since I think its something people could learn from. Now, for some disclaimers. I am quite new to this process and nothing I post should be taken as the “best” or even “correct” way to do things, this is merely what I have found and implemented. Second, @Thorn0906 continually reminds people that Rust is a fast and memory safe option for those willing to learn it (I would add Java to this recommendation). I personally haven’t done this since I completed significant portions of my code prior to Rust and Java support and I am already familiar with C++. If you aren’t far into your algo creation it may be worth giving those a shot. Again, I have not since it would take a long time to convert my code over to those versions.

Alright, I have noticed that some other players use C++ by calling their binary executable through a subprocess. This is fine, but not how I implemented mine so I won’t be going into that. Additionally, I find there is quite a bit of support online for subprocesses, and not so much for what I’ve done. Also, there is the advantage that creating an extension is created and directly part of Python. For this example, I’ll be showing the creation for an extension I wrote for my ML algos. It is a simple matrix/vector multiplication extension, used in my algo for forward-propagation passes. It is highly unoptimized yet is up to 100x faster than a basic python example. If you want to see a (very basic) pure python implementation you can see one here, although I recommend you give it a shot yourself since it’s pretty simple. I recommend running some tests with larger matrices, it gets slow very quickly and shows why a C++ extension is useful.